And The Spotlight Shines On. . .

I love how the sun finds one tree or one frond to shine on, 
as though training a high intensity spotlight just on it
for a few moments of glory amidst trees and ferns in its shadow.

Spotlight fades and now one frond is the star.
Now a spider web glows like sterling suspended between cedar boughs.
I doubt I could capture that with my camera
so I choose to watch as it fades back into the dark backdrop again.

And now, as though a proud mother showing off her youngest,
light green leaves of the thin maple beam with colour at being noticed.
Once again the branch above the nesting box is highlighted,
first one small leaf appears ephemeral,
floating along while shaded by larger leaves.
It's branch camouflaged by the fir tree behind it.

Every day the light finds new ways
to highlight that family of maple leaves,
as though it has a message for me I just don't get.

Robins zing by in the canopy,
feeding time for baby birds.
I wonder what they think of our earth-bound existence
as they fly through what surrounds us all.

©Sharron R. McMillan






























P { margin-bottom: 0.08in }

And the spotlight shines on. .

I love how the sun finds one tree or
one leaf to shine on,
as though training a high intensity
spotlight just on it
for a few moments of glory
amidst trees and ferns in its shadow.
Spotlight fades and now another branch
is the star.Now a spider web glows like sterling
suspended between cedar boughs.
I doubt I could capture that with my
cameraso I choose to watch as it fades back
into the dark backdrop again.And now, as though a proud mother
showing off her youngest,
'look how much you've grown,'light green leaves of the thin maple
beam with colour at being noticed.Once again the branch above the nesting
box is highlighted.First one amall leaf appears ephemeral,floating along while shaded by larger
leaves.It's branch camouflaged by the fir tree
behind it.
Every day the light finds new ways to
highlight that family of maple leaves,as though it has a message for me I
just don't get.Robins zing by in the canopy,
feeding time for baby birds.I wonder what they think of our
earth-bound existence
as they fly through what surrounds us
all.

This entry was posted in forest and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to And The Spotlight Shines On. . .

  1. Heather says:

    And I like your thinking! Bless those Maples. I may take their advice as well!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. hernibs says:

    Oh, I like how you think! I think the maples are telling me to be strong, be courageous and enjoy the sun. 😊

    Like

  3. Heather says:

    Perhaps the light and the Maple grove are in a partnership. Maybe it is the Maples that have the message for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. hernibs says:

    Thank you Cookie! 😘

    Like

  5. lovealways7 says:

    Just beautiful ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Comments