It’s About Disappointment

p1070279-2_watermarked
It’s about disappointment and loss.
Life lessons that change our life
and how we choose
to change with it.

Anger, revenge,
retaliation, fear,
or peace, acceptance,
blessing and grace –
we choose
until we learn it.

Today I choose
through tears of loss,
with a tinge of anger
and a very little bit of grace
to accept the short-lived gift given me
and give it up again
with gratitude at having held such a gift at all.

©2016 Sharron R. McMillan

This entry was posted in Living Simply, Simplicity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s About Disappointment

  1. Susan J Clark says:

    My beautiful little schnauzer, Madeline, passed away at 5 am on Oct. 24…in my arms. We had been together 13 1/2 years. Needless to say, my heart is totally broken…an enormous loss for me.

    Like

    • hernibs says:

      I am so sorry to hear about your loss. I know how much you loved that little one. I wrote this poem on the death of Stanley, a rescue cat that was ill when we got him and he didn’t make it. Loss is hard to bear.

      Like

Comments

