A Few Of My Favourite Things

antiques on shelf
Favourite things on an open shelf where I can see, use and appreciate them.
Pyrex measuring cups, use them every day.
Nut chopper, no hum or buzz, just a satisfying, rhythmic pressing of the plunger chops up our home grown hazel nuts in no time.
Egg beater in antique glass my daughter bought me years ago. I love using it and washing it, it is so beautiful and elegant.  What freshly laid egg doesn’t deserve elegant.
Canning funnel for canning day and small colander for lots of uses, from picking berries to draining small batches of pasta.
Two wonderful nestled stainless steel pots with handles I use all the time.
Red Rose tea bags in a tall blue glass jar, ready for elevenses.
Good old grater, much quieter than a processor and takes a lot less room.
Pepper mill and a variety of salt for trying out – Kosher, Himalayan, local seaweed and sea salt in an old glass salt shaker we found on a deserted beach at the end of Hotham Sound.
Small stainless steel pot for heating milk for my coffee.
Burt’s Bees hand cream, love it.
Antique blue and white china sugar bowl from hisnibs great grandmother.
Felted tea cosie my daughter made for me, that keeps our tea hot while it steeps.

Favourite things that inspire me.

©Sharron R. McMillan

This entry was posted in Living Simply, Simplicity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Few Of My Favourite Things

  1. Heather says:

    Such wonderful items from another time and part of a simple life style that treasures what is present and does not load the landfill. Conscious living. Bravo!

    Like

Comments

