Secrets

Photograph: Sharron R. McMillan

Photograph: Sharron R. McMillan

Lies are secrets not told.

Secrets are walls between lovers,
chasms between friends,
barriers within families.

Truth is
baring a soul,
being responsible,
facing consequences,

tearing down walls,
building a bridge,
adding a gate.

Truth is hard
but always better
than secrets.

©2015 Sharron R. McMillan

This entry was posted in Living Simply, Simplicity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Secrets

  1. Heather Hanson says:

    Why would I tell something that might harm or hurt another? I look for my secondary reasons. I enter this life and leave it, in some ways alone. All I do, or feel, or think is between me and my God. What another does is between her and her God. If it has nothing to do with another or does not impact upon them I likely keep quiet. Sometimes, when I make a confession, the other person then carries it and I have put some of my load on them. Just a thought….a different point of view….a questioning….a wondering – what is wisest?

    Like

    • hernibs says:

      I hear you but I think keeping truth from another that does impact them is hurting them. To go through years of one’s life believing something is so or believing someone is true but always having that unsettled ‘knowing’ without any proof is as harmful or more harmful than knowing the truth. Allowing the one who is hurt to deal with the source of the hurt which began when the secret began is opening the path to healing. The age old triangulation is what I’m talking about here, agreeing with someone else to keep a secret in order ‘not to hurt’ the one that they already hurt is cruelty. In my humble opinion. Often the one kept in the dark hurts more with the imaginings than knowing the truth. And the relationship that started at that secret is then a lie I think.

      Like

Comments

