Literary Or Literal

Photograph: Sharron R. McMillan

Photograph: Sharron R. McMillan

Literary writers write other people’s words, use successful people’s names, recall famous people’s opinions. In other words, to be considered a writer one must parrot well what has already been written to somehow prove one is well read, clever and knows how to use Google.

My intellect recoils at the whole idea of sucking in and spitting out all that has already been said, in quotes no less. Shouldn’t a writer also be a thinking one who struggles over the why of things, who sees, who looks and knows. Not just quoting others who were thinkers, hoping one day someone will quote them too.

I don’t write to prove my reading ability or my memory or how well I can use Google. I write to make sense of my inner dialogue, the uniqueness of how I see the world I live in and what I know about what I perceive. I guess I’ll never be a literary write, not quoted ad nauseam in literary courses. But my words will be truthful and my insights from a deeper place than a library shelf.

Or maybe I’m just excusing being too lazy to work at fitting what I think about into other people’s observations to validate mine.

Maybe I’d rather share what I have learned for myself by living my own life rather than re-wording what others and others and others have said over and over again, literally.

©2015 Sharron R. McMillan

This entry was posted in Living Simply, Simplicity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Literary Or Literal

  1. Heather Hanson says:

    Well said. Most creative works come from deep inner being rather than head space. Love this photo. As reflective as your words.

    Like

Comments

